Some recipes and more!

Posted on October 26, 2011

0


I’ve attached some recipes for ACSF and internal solutions here. Thanks to Suzanne and Dervis for sending me their recipes!

I’m slowly, but sure working through the transcript of our session (and a huge thanks to Astra Bryant for her assistance!). Hope to have it up soon.

In the meantime, I’ll pose a question: What was one of the most ‘valuable’ learning experiences when you were first learning to patch?

And by ‘valuable,’ I mean ‘painful.’

I think a fond memory of mine was when I discovered that you can’t use pipets < 4 Mohm to record from small (10-15 um diameter) neurons. That was a month well spent.

Another fun time was determining the osmolarity of my internal was a bit too high (probably due to addition of biocytin). Turns out that having your internal osmo < ACSF osmo really is important after all.

-Alex

